Excellence in education recognised at Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022

Comedian and broadcaster, Shappi Khorsandi hosting the awards

The city's education professionals took centre stage at Portsmouth Guildhall on Thursday 9 June 2022 for the Teach Portsmouth Awards, hosted by comedian and broadcaster, Shaparak Khorsandi. 

Teachers, learning support assistants, school teams and head teachers were recognised for supporting children and young people's education during the last academic year. Winners were announced in 9 award categories including outstanding achievement, community and collaboration and innovation in teaching. Councillor Suzy Horton, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children, Families and Education at Portsmouth City Council said:

Councillor Suzy Horton welcoming guests to the Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022

"The last two academic years have been very challenging for staff in schools and colleges across the city due to COVID-19. However, a global pandemic has not stopped innovation in the classroom or staff going above and beyond to support children and young people."

"The Teach Portsmouth Awards is an opportunity to recognise teaching excellence, reward best practice and showcase staff who have helped families in unique ways. It's also a chance to come together and reflect on our successes as a city."

by Councillor Suzy Horton, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children, Families and Education

The introduction of two new categories, teaching assistant of the year and new teacher of the year shone a light on those who don't always get the recognition they deserve. Other categories included the people's choice award which allowed local residents to nominate their teaching hero. Mike Stoneman, deputy director for children's services and education said: 

Mike Stoneman discussing the power of working together to help children and young people in the city

"After a two-year break due to COVID-19, it was fantastic to be back in person to celebrate the contribution of school and college staff across the city.

"The Teach Portsmouth Awards is an important event that feeds into the work of the Portsmouth Education Partnership around staff retention. By recognising success, this enables us to keep the best teaching talent local, improving outcomes for children and young people." 

by Mike Stoneman, deputy director for children's services and education

The winners were announced at the awards ceremony in the following categories:

  • Teaching assistant of the year award (Sponsored by: Caterlink)Debbie De Caen - Admiral Lord Nelson School
  • New teacher of the year award - (Sponsored by: University of Portsmouth) Lukasz Plaza - Admiral Lord Nelson School
  • People's choice award (Sponsored by: The News) (Two winners) Rebekah Egerton - Beacon View Primary Academy / Dee Ient - Cumberland Infant School
  • Innovation in teaching award (Sponsored by: Gunwharf Quays) Chiara Fraser, Liv Fox and Sam Devoil - The Portsmouth Academy
  • Creativity award (Sponsored by HSDC) Chris Ricketts from Priory School
  • Inclusion and diversity award (Sponsored by: City of Portsmouth College) Pete Dudley - Trafalgar School
  • Community and Collaboration award (Sponsored by: Mountjoy) Curriculum team - Ark Ayrton Primary Academy
  • Unsung hero award (Sponsored by: Thinking Schools Academy Trust) Stacey Patrick - Ark Dickens Primary Academy
  • Outstanding contribution award (Sponsored by: Kier) Katie Holness - Admiral Lord Nelson School

In addition, 84 teachers received long service awards for 20 years of service to the city. There is no overall winner in this category and everyone receives an award.

See the winners and shortlist

Discover the winners in 9 award categories as teachers, learning support assistants, teams and leaders took to the stage at Portsmouth Guildhall on Thursday 9 June.  

Related Posts