Share this page with colleagues and friends...

Thank you for watching

If you joined us to watch Portsmouth's classroom heroes on Thursday 9 June at the Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022, you would have seen superstar colleagues win big in 10 award categories.

A livestream captured education highs as teachers, learning support assistants, teams and senior leaders were recognised for their work to support children, young people and families in the city.

Congratulations to our amazing winners and shortlist for all their work. You are all superstars!

  • Teaching assistant of the year

  • New teacher of the year award

  • People's choice award

  • Innovation in teaching award

  • Outstanding contribution award

  • Creativity award

  • Inclusion and diversity award

  • Community and collaboration award

  • Long service award

  • Unsung hero award

Spot your teaching heroes

Take a look through our photo gallery from this year's awards ceremony

View the winners and shortlist

Take a look at this year's winners and shortlist from the Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022 alongside our incredible sponsors.

Teaching assistant of the year

Sponsored by Caterlink

Winner: Deborah de Caen - Admiral Lord Nelson School

Debbie has dedicated over 20 years of her career to supporting young people with special educational needs. She is 100% focused on securing the best outcomes for young people, be it academic qualifications or helping them handle themselves in social situations.

Shortlisted in this award...

Sally May

Priory School

Alice Robinson

Trafalgar School

New teacher of the year award

Sponsored by the University of Portsmouth

Winner: Lukasz Plaza - Admiral Lord Nelson School

Lukasz joined as a newly qualified teacher in 2020. Now in his second year of teaching, Lukasz has used his experience to help early career teachers organise themselves through professional learning sessions and coaching.

Shortlisted in this award...

Emma Creasey

Copnor Primary School

Chloe Randles-Henshaw

Trafalgar School

People's choice award

Sponsored by The News

Joint Winner: Rebekah Egerton - Beacon View Primary Academy

"Rebekah has supported my child when no other teacher could reach them. There has been a profound difference since Rebekah started supported them."

Joint Winner: Dee Ient - Cumberland Infant School

"Dee supports my child who is blind. She has even learnt braille and adjusted learning materials to accommodate my child's lack of vision."

Shortlisted in this award...

Amanda Bushell

Stamshaw Junior School

Innovation in teaching award

Sponsored by Gunwharf Quays

Winners: Chiara Fraser, Liv Fox, Sam Devoil - The Portsmouth Academy

The team have begun a reading revolution. They have used Microsoft Reading Progress app, increasing reading age by +5 months for year 7s and year 8s.

Shortlisted in this award...

Millie Woolcott

Copnor Primary School

Phil Royle

Mayfield School

Outstanding contribution award

Sponsored by Kier

Winner: Katie Holness - Admiral Lord Nelson School

Katie has been an integral part of the school since the start of her teaching career in 1996. She has strong links with all partner primary schools across Portsmouth, having led a successful transition into year 7 programme for the past 8 years and prides herself on meeting and ascertaining the needs of every child (and their family) in the school.

Shortlisted in this award...

Charlotte Kilshaw

City of Portsmouth College

Steve Bayliss

Meon Junior School

Creativity award

Sponsored by HSDC

Winner: Chris Ricketts - Priory School

Chris has developed and encouraged creativity since joining the school. He started the Arts Award at Priory School in 2021. He is also aiming to achieve the Arts Mark Award over the coming year.

Shortlisted in this award...

Vicky Furby

Newbridge Junior School

Rebecca Frost (and the nursery team)

Highbury Primary School

Inclusion and diversity award

Sponsored by Portsmouth College, Highbury College, City of Portsmouth College

Winner: Pete Dudley - Trafalgar School

Pete is a passionate supporter of LGBTQ+ rights and has been instrumental in creating a culture of celebrating and supporting inclusion within their school community. He has set up an LGBTQ+ club for their students and designed a comprehensive support programme for young people who are transitioning.

Shortlisted in this award...

Pat Link and Chris Plow

Portsdown Primary School

Charlotte Mason

Miltoncross Academy

Community and collaboration award

Sponsored by Mountjoy

Winner: Curriculum team - Ark Ayrton Primary Academy

The curriculum team have organised ‘kindness week’ with a focus on strengthening relationships with the local community. This includes Southsea Fire Station who continue to support the school's work on fire safety.

Shortlisted in this award...

ESOL Department

City of Portsmouth College

Sarah Brown

Meon Junior School

Unsung hero award

Sponsored by Thinking Schools Academy Trust

Winner: Stacey Patrick - Ark Dickens Primary Academy

Stacey is a master of all trades offering support beyond her day-to-day role. Over the past 18 months she has been cook, 1:1 support, a playground buddy, reader and even an extra member of staff for trips.

Shortlisted in this award...

Sally Walker

Copnor Primary School

Doug Richards

Meon Junior School

Mandy O'Mahony

Wimborne Primary School

Mike Bond

Stamshaw Junior School

Long service award

This award is for teachers, support staff or leaders who have worked in the city for over 20 years. There is no overall winner in this category and everyone who is recognised will receive an award.

Download the Teach Portsmouth Awards programme

Look back at the Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022 by downloading the official programme. Read the inspirational supporting statements for the shortlist.
Teach Portsmouth, Children, Families and Education at Portsmouth City Council, Civic Offices, Portsmouth, PO1 2EA
   023 9268 8088 (9.30am - 2.30pm)
© - Teach Portsmouth, All Rights Reserved