Share this page with colleagues and friends...

Thank you for celebrating with us!

Teachers, support teams and leaders from schools and colleges joined us at Portsmouth Guildhall on Thursday 29 June 2023 to celebrate their achievements in 12 award categories.

We'd like to give a big thank you to our sponsors who made the event possible. You can now find a list of the winners, watch a recording of the live stream, and see photos from the event... details below.

  • Teaching & learning support award

  • Early career
    teacher award

  • People's choice

  • Innovation

  • Early years and
    childcare award

  • Inclusion

  • Community

  • Unsung hero

  • Governor's

  • Progress

  • Outstanding contribution award

  • Long service

View the event photo gallery

Watch the awards ceremony

View the winners and those shortlisted

Take a look at the winners and shortlist in 11 award categories (including a list of long service award recipients)

Teaching and learning support award

Sponsored by: University of Chichester Academy Trust

Winner: Analiese Campbell - Langstone Junior Academy

Analiese has a passion for mental health and wellbeing which is evident in her role but also her availability to parents when they need advice and support. She runs an after-school club called ‘mindful me’ that enables pupils to learn self-care techniques.

in this award...

Beth Park

Cliffdale Primary Academy

Anita Tozer

Penbridge Infant School & Nursery

Early career teacher award

Sponsored by: University of Portsmouth

This award recognises new teachers who have started in the past four years working in a Portsmouth school or college.

Winner: Camille Lahon - Admiral Lord Nelson School

Camille joined the school as an early career teacher in 2021. She is an immense force of positivity and energy. Camille has set up pen-pal links between ALNS and two schools in Normandy for year seven students.

in this award...

Emily Brown

Court Lane Infant Academy

Tonicea-Leigh Bennett

Mayfield School

People's choice award

Sponsored by The News

This award allows members of the public to nominate a teacher, learning support assistant or head teacher who has gone above and beyond in unique ways to support their child or young person.

Winner: Michelle Chadwick - Priory School

Mrs Chadwick is not your average teacher. She has so many unique skills and has such a determination to ensure every child is the centre of everything she does.

in this award...

Jacqueline Collins

Devonshire Infant School

Emma Roberts

Trafalgar School

Innovation award

Sponsored by HSDC

This award celebrates the work of an individual or team in a school or college who have developed new ways of working to improve teaching and learning in Portsmouth.

Winners: Portsmouth Digital Champions (14 champions across Portsmouth schools)

A group of education professionals have chosen to give up their own time to support the development of "Portsmouth: The Digital City" project. These champions will drive forward change and support best practice by completing an apprenticeship over the next 15 months.

in this award...

Hollie Gibbens

Milton Park Primary School

Rebekah Spalding

Priory School

Early years and childcare award

Sponsored by: Home-Start Portsmouth

This award recognises the talents of early years professionals in Portsmouth who have gone above and beyond in their settings.

Winner: Sarah Jayne Whatling - Parade Community Preschool

Jayne has been the safeguarding lead at the preschool for 23 years. She strives to support the children and families at the setting and continuously demonstrates values of parental partnership and inclusion.

in this award...

Catherine Holloway

Manor Infant School and Nursery

Sayeed Ali

Rainbow Corner Nursery School

Inclusion award

Sponsored by: Salterns Academy Trust

Winner: Anne Ormston - The Harbour School

Anne joined The Harbour School in September 2009. She is a passionate supporter of LGBTQ+ rights and has been instrumental in creating a culture of celebrating and supporting inclusion within the school.

in this award...

Pastoral team

Stamshaw Infant School

SEND champions

Wimborne Primary School

Community award

Sponsored by: Gunwharf Quays

Winner: Beacon View Christmas lunch team - Beacon View Primary Academy

Staff, children and parents came together to welcome members of the wider school community to attend a free Christmas lunch. Supported by the Peace Centre Food Hub, Caterlink, St Michael and All Angels Church, Paulsgrove Co-op Funeral Care and private individuals, this event ensured everyone felt the spirit of Christmas.

in this award...

Eco team

Arundel Court Primary Academy and Nursery

Rebecca Denford

Mayfield School

Unsung hero award

Sponsored by: City of Portsmouth College

Winner: Shireen Hawkins - St Swithun's Catholic Primary School

Shireen is the heart and soul of the school. She dedicates her entire day to ensuring everyone's wellbeing is her number one priority.

She is our emotional literacy support assistant and the one person that every child says they feel safe to talk to when they have problems.

in this award...

Amy Osman

Ark Dickens Primary Academy

Andrew Beecher

Admiral Lord Nelson School

Governor's award

Sponsored by: PCC

Winner: Phil Harris-Bridge - Castle View Academy

Phil has been the chair of governors at the school for the last five years. Under his leadership, he has transformed governance and was recognised in a recent 'good' Ofsted inspection.

in this award...

Hugh Rudkin Whitaker

King's Academy College Park and King's Academy Northern Parade

Jo Bennett

Trafalgar School

Progress award

Sponsored by: Nation Radio

Winners: Alison Spicer and Thomasina Bingley - Stamshaw Infant School

As proud winners of the prestigious Artsmark GOLD Award, Alison and Thomasina have provided a superb curriculum offer, fostering rich opportunities and strong, ambitious commitment to a fully inclusive and authentic cultural experience.

in this award...

Year six team

(represented by Chantelle Robinson)
Ark Ayrton Primary Academy

Alex Franklin and Hayley Taylor

Mayfield School

Outstanding contribution award

Sponsored by Mountjoy

Winner: Giri Nair - The Flying Bull Academy

Giri has worked at the school for 32 years and has had such a positive impact on children, families, and the next generation of teachers during this time. Her passion for education is infectious and her drive to improve outcomes for children is relentless.

in this award...

Anna Fancey

Stamshaw Infant School

Stana Boulton

Highbury Primary School

Long service award

This award is for teachers, support staff or leaders who have worked in the city for over 20 years. There is no overall winner in this category and everyone who is recognised will receive an award.

Teach Portsmouth Awards 2023 news posts

Here are some news posts about the 2023 Teach Portsmouth Awards

Teach Portsmouth Awards 2022

View the winners and shortlist
Look back at those featured in the 2022 event across 10 award categories.